Frequently Asked Questions
Rive is a real-time interactive design tool that allows you to design, animate, and immediately integrate your assets into any platform.
In short, we believe the design industry has a lot to benefit from designers sharing their entire process rather than just a final polished screenshot or video. Read our blog post about the initiative.
Public files are viewable by anybody. Private files can only be seen by the owner.
Public files are view-only by default. They have no license and they are under your exclusive copyright. Nobody else can use, copy, distribute, or modify your work unless you enable "Allow Fork." We’ll ask you to select a license from the Creative Commons before this can be enabled, so your work is always protected.
A fork is a copy of another user's file. It uses their file as a starting point for a new file in your account. Forking encourages sharing, and you'll probably learn some new techniques too!
You can use as many computers as you want. We do not have a computer limit.
Accounts are intended for use by a single person. If you want to work with a team, each team member should have their own account. Per our Terms of Service, and for your security, your account may be locked if we notice that multiple people are using it.
We believe our approach offers several advantages over the traditional software model:
- Access your projects anywhere
- No serial numbers/computer limit
- Deeply integrated online community for support and learning
- Open other users' files directly in the browser. Learn from their techniques.
- Fork other users' shared files (if they allow it)
- Automatic revision history
- Modern and flexible user interface
- Immediate availability of new features and functionality
Your files are always saved in the local storage of your browser. Even if your connection goes down, you can continue working on your file. As soon as your connection is back, Rive syncs with our online revision manager. Just make sure you find a connection before opening the file on another computer, otherwise you will not see the latest revision of that file.
Your work is automatically saved every time you make a change. If you want to force a save, you can press
Son a Mac or
Son a PC. You can see a list of all your revisions in the Revision History.
Use the Export menu in Rive to export your file.
Then use the appropriate runtime for your platform. Our runtimes are libraries that give you full control of your characters in other tools and game engines. They allow you to load and render your character, dynamically manipulate bones, mix animations, and more.
If you cancel your paid account, you will be placed on the free plan. You'll still be able to open your private files, but you won't be able to make changes to them without re-activating your paid account or converting them to public files.
Yes, you can downgrade to the free plan at any time. You can also re-upgrade to the paid plan at any time.
Nima is optimized for game engines and only supports raster images. It is primarily designed for character animation. You can still create Nima files, but we will soon be adding support to open your Nima files into Rive. At that point, when all of Nima’s features will be added to Rive, we’ll be removing Nima from the site.